Tears 4 Tyra??

In 2003 when Tyra Banks first stepped off the runway to host America’s Next Top Model, I was curious to see what a model could offer other than striking a pose. This was back when reality television was fairly new. You know, before VH1 played it out with those disastrously popular shows…The Flavor of Love, I Love New York, and Real Chance of Love. Yuck-Yuck! Needless to say, I was pleasantly surprised that Tyra’s show captivated my attention for more than one season and I even found myself rooting for Eva Marcille to win in the 3rd cycle. And after Eva walked away with that title, she took my interests along with her.

In 2005, Ms. Banks added The Tyra Banks Show to her roster which wasn’t a big surprise. After I seen her guest host with Oprah Winfrey a few times, I knew it was imminent. And I’ll be honest, I was never drawn to her show and could actually count on one hand how many episodes actually caught my fancy. I know many of you will disagree with me but it was definitely my prerogative not to sit for an hour listening to what Tyra had to say which was mostly about beauty tips or resurrecting ANTM cast members of past seasons.  Oh yeah and confronting Naomi Campbell after 15 years! Not too far behind her mentor, Ms. Winfrey, Tyra placed a heartfelt message on her website announcing that 2010-2011 will be the last season of her talk show. Will I shed a tear for Tyra as I did for Oprah? Probably not…she’s simply growing her empire.  Focusing on Bankable Studios, I believe Ms. B will finally find her niche…bringing us the drama and becoming a female Tyler Perry!

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

