Kelis Is Singing Acapella

Last time I heard anything about Kelis was the speculation of marital problems with her husband Nas. Whether it was real or just fiction, I still felt for them and their dissolving marriage especially with the new addition of son Knight. On March 28, 2010, Kelis dropped a new video and added some vibrant colors to her song, “Acapella.” This has offered fans an opportunity to fully view her majestic world which is definitely more calmer and nurturing than her previous efforts. Avatar instantly came to my mind with the beginning scenic shots of Kelis running barefooted through a forest; the bow & arrow, feathered headdress, and body-art sealed the deal for me. Like a giant enchantress, Kelis croons against a moderately tempered beat which is both extremely relaxing and intoxicating at the same time. Kelis showcased her awesome figure which clearly displayed she was sans baby-weight.  Other captivating shots were the eclectic glasses during the introduction to the beautiful yellow butterfly. My favorite was the ending scene with little Knight on her back…talk about carrying precious cargo!

One Response

  1. this is my absolute favorite song I listen to it very loud on my ipod on the train ! This is the direction she needed to stay to keep her fans. This was the music she started out with and I am glad she got back to basics ! She is played in heavy rotation in the gay clubs which is where you also keep you $$$ Flowing i.e Lady Gaga & Beyonce.. Also she is doing tracks with Will. I am so I am super ready to download this CD 🙂

Leave a Reply

